Buildings and Estates Subcommittee (BESC)

Membership as at HT 2021

Name Position Conditions of Appointment Until
Dr Nick Brown Principal of Linacre A Chair appointed by Council who shall also serve on the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee of Council HT 2024
Dr David Prout The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources) The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources) Ex officio
Professor Karen O'Brien Head of the Humanities Division A person appointed by the Humanities Divisional Board MT 2023
Professor Graham Taylor Associate Head (Estates and Capital Planning) A person appointed by the MPLS Divisional Board MT 2022
Dr Brid Cronin Head of Strategic Planning and Projects (MSD) A person appointed by the Medical Sciences Divisional Board MT 2022
Professor Sarah Whatmore Head of the Social Sciences Division A person nominated by the Social Sciences Divisional Board MT 2021
Mr Richard Ovenden Bodley's Librarian The Director of University Library Services and Bodley's Librarian or a person nominated by the Director Ex officio
Dr Alexander Sturgis Director of the Ashmolean Museum A person appointed by the Oxford University Museums Board from among the Directors of the University's museums MT 2022
Ms Laura How Chief Operating Officer (Bodleian) Two persons elected by Congregation MT 2021
Mr Anthony Sibthorp External Co-opted (the subcommittee may co-opt up to two additional members, who may be external) MT 2023
[vacancy] External  

Contact us

Planning and Council Secretariat

Sarah Gardner

+44 01865 (2)70021