	Uı	niversity of Oxford	
		COUNCIL	
	Minutes of the Unreserve	ed Meeting held at 13:15 on 22 April 2024	
in the MCR, OUP, Walton Street, Oxford			
Present	Professor Irene Tracy	Vice-Chancellor (Chair)	
	Professor Thomas Adcock	Senior Proctor	
	Professor Proochista Ariana	Elected member of Congregation	
	Wendy Becker	External member	
	Professor Ben Bollig	Assessor	
	Professor Sir Rory Collins	Elected member of Congregation	
	Professor Patricia Daley	Elected member of Congregation	
	Sir Chris Deverell	External member	
	Professor Cécile Fabre	Elected member of Congregation	
	Tom Fletcher	Elected member of Conference of Colleges (Teams)	
	Dame Helen Ghosh	Head of Conference of Colleges	
	Professor Sir Charles Godfray	Elected member of Congregation	
	Professor Nandini Gooptu	Elected member of Congregation	
	Professor Patrick Grant	Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research, (Internal Vice-Chair) Co-opted member	
	Professor Daniel Grimley	Head of Division (Humanities)	
	Charles Harman	External member (External Vice-Chair)	
	Professor Richard Hobbs	Elected member of Congregation	
	Nicholas Kroll	External member	
	Professor Conall MacNiocall	Junior Proctor	
	Sharmila Nebhrajani	External member (Teams)	
	Professor Jim Naismith	Head of Division (Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences)	
	Professor Timothy Power	Head of Division (Social Sciences)	
	Professor Diego Sanchez-Ancochea	Elected member of Congregation	
	Professor Alex Schekochihin	Elected member of Congregation	
	Professor Gavin Screaton	Head of Division (Medical Sciences) (Teams)	
	Professor Sam Wolfe	Elected member of Congregation	
	Professor Krina Zondervan	Elected member of Congregation	
Attending	Professor Alex Betts	Local and Global Engagement Officer	
	Simon Boddie	Chief Financial Officer	
	Elizabeth Botwright	Head of the Vice-Chancellor's Office	
	Professor Chas Bountra	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Innovation)	
	James Colman	Director of Public Affairs (via Teams)	
	Dr Stephen Conway	Interim Deputy Registrar (vice Gill Aitken, Registrar)	
	Sarah Cowburn	Senior Assistant Registrar (Governance)	
	Liesl Elder	Chief Development and Alumni Engagement Officer	
	Dr Markos Koumaditis	HR Director	
	Lara McCarthy	Head of Governance	
	Richard Ovenden	Head of GLAM	
	Professor David Prout	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources)	
	Professor Tim Soutphommasane	Chief Diversity Officer	
	Professor Anne Trefethen	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (People + Digital)	
	Professor Martin Williams	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)	
	Dr Hilary Wynne	Early Career Researcher	
Minute		Item	
126 A	pologies for absence		
G	ill Aitken (Registrar) and VP PG Educati	ion and Access	
127 D	eclarations of Interest (012-COUN-23	1030-P refers)	
N	o new declarations were made.		
	Co	mmittee Governance	
128 U	nreserved minutes of the Council me	eting held on 11 March 2024 128-COUN-240422-C	
	ECISION: Council approved the uprese	erved minutes of the meeting held on 11 March 2024.	
		51 YOU MININGS OF THE MICHING HEID OFFICE WIDTON 2024.	

CONFIDENTIAL

		Chair's Unreserved Business		
129	Vic	Vice-Chancellor's unreserved business and selected highlights		
		The Vice-Chancellor welcomed the new Senior Proctor, Professor Thomas Adcock, the new Junior Proctor, Professor Connall MacNiocall and the new Assessor, Professor Ben Bollig to their first Council meeting.		
	She noted that the Russell Group Vice-Chancellors would be meeting during the week to look at what educational priorities would be in light of the upcoming election. There would be a need to create coherent eco-systems that linked education and research to the local economy (such as spinouts and innovation space).			
	The Chief Financial Officer informed Council that USS was currently consulting on its investment strategy following the finalisation of the 2023 Valuation of the scheme.			
		Items below this line were for receipt and/or approval, without discussion		
4.0.0		For Approval		
130	Mir	nor Capital Plan update (previously item 088-COUN-240205-C) 130-COUN-240422-C		
	DE	CISIONS: Council		
	1)	Approved version 15.2 of the Minor Capital Plan.		
	2)	Noted the information provided on variances between planned and actual expenditure and proposed actions.		
	3)	Noted that PRAC has approved the proposal for 10% over-planning within the Minor Capital Plan.		
	4)	Noted the transfer from the Minor Capital Plan to the Planned Maintenance budget within the 23/24 financial year.		
	5)	Approved the clarification of governance arrangements for the Minor Capital Plan following the implementation of the Finance White Paper.		
131	Sp	ace allocations (Warneford site) 131-COUN-240422-C		
	-	CISIONS: Council approved:		
	1)	for onward referral to Congregation for approval the allocation of approximately 776 sqm NUA within Warneford Wellcome (building 644) to the Department of Psychiatry for a period of approximately 70 years, from 20 December 2023, until 19 September 2093.		
	2)	for onward referral to Congregation for approval the allocation of approximately 695 sqm NUA within Warneford Main (building 645) to the Department of Psychiatry for a period of approximately 55 years, from 20 December 2023, until 23 March 2079.		
	3)	the draft explanatory note to Congregation (Annexe A).		
		To note		
132	An	nual Report on Retirement 132-COUN-240422-C		
	Co	uncil noted the report.		
Matters Change Change	s Arisi e to S e to S	ing - Estates Strategy (Finance Update) ing - Access and Participation Plan tatute XVI and Open Access Publications Policy tatute XI Student Discipline		
Q2 For ASC te		eport (btl)		