Visitors of History Of Science Museum

The purpose of the Museum shall be to assemble, preserve, and exhibit objects illustrating the history of science, especially early scientific instruments, together with related books and manuscripts, to contribute to relevant teaching and research within the University, and to facilitate and promote scholarly and public knowledge of the history of science and its cultural and social contexts.


Expand All

Membership as at TT23 is as follows

  Name Office or Appointing Body Until
[1] Professor Roger Davies (Chair), Philip Wetton Professor of Astrophysics, Christ Church, University of Oxford     A chair who shall be appointed by the Vice-Chancellor HT 2026
[2] Mr Richard Ovenden, Bodleian Librarian and Professorial Fellow  The Head of Gardens, Libraries and Museums (GLAM) ex officio
 [3] tbc One of the Proctors or the Assessor as may be agreed between them ex officio
 [4] Professor Robert Iliffe, Professor of the History of Science  The Professor of the History of Science ex officio
 [5-8] Professor Andrew Pollard, St Cross (Medical Sciences)

Professor Shadreck Chirikure (Social Sciences)

Professor Nandini Das, Exeter (Humanities)

Professor John Wheater, University (MPLS)

Up to four persons appointed by Council, ensuring a balance of representation across the four academic divisions MT 2025

Co-opted (ensuring that the number of external Visitors is not greater than the number of internal Visitors, the Visitors may co-opt up to six additional members, who may be internal or external, and who need not be members of Congregation to provide specific skills not covered by existing appointments)


Imam Monawar Hussain MBE DL FRSA, 3rd Chairman and Founder, The Oxford Foundation; Imam of Eton College 

Dr Erica Charters, Associate Professor of Global History and the History of Medicine (Faculty of History), Wolfson College, University of Oxford, and Director of the Oxford Centre for the History of Science, Medicine and Technology 

Henry Kim, Director and CEO at the Aga Khan Museum Toronto 

Dr Venetia Porter*, Assistant Keeper (Senior Curator), Islamic and contemporary Middle East art, the British Museum 



Secretary: Dr Silke Ackermann, Director of the Museum


For the regulations of the Committee for the Visitors of the History of Science museum please click here:


Contact us

Dr Silke Ackermann

Director of the History of Science Museum