Curators of the University Libraries

The Curators of the University Libraries (CUL) are responsible to the University for, among other things, ensuring that provision is made for the University's library and information requirements for teaching and research and for ensuring that the University's major research libraries, including the Bodleian, Sackler, and Taylorian Libraries, are maintained as a national and international scholarly resource.

The Curators are responsible for the major research and faculty libraries. Departmental and college libraries are answerable to their own institutions, although the Curators have a general duty to advise the University on all matters relating to the provision of library services. Bodley's Librarian is responsible for the administration of those libraries which are within the remit of the Curators.

Expand All

Membership as at TT 2022 will be as follows

  Name Conditions of appointment Until
[1] Professor Patrick Grant, St Catherine's The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research), who shall be chair ex officio
[2] The Junior Proctor (Dr Linda Flores, Harris Manchester) One of the Proctors or the Assessor as may be agreed between them ex officio
[3] Vacancy (Council and PRAC member)

Four persons appointed by Council, of whom one shall be a member both of Council

and of its Planning and Resource Allocation Committee, and of whom two shall be external persons

MT 2022
[4] Professor Ian Gadd, Bath Spa University As above MT 2023
[5] Dr Jessica Gardner, University of Cambridge As above MT 2022
[6] Professor Philip N. Howard, Oxford Internet Institute As above MT 2022
[7] Professor Katherine Southwood, St John’s One member of the Humanities Divisional Board, appointed by the Board MT 2022


(vice Professor George Ratcliffe, New)

One member of the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Divisional Board, appointed by the Board MT 2025
[9] Professor Rebeccah Slater, St John's One member of the Medical Sciences Divisional Board, appointed by the Board HT 2026
[10] Dr Nicholas Owen, Queen's One member of the Social Sciences Divisional Board, appointed by the Board MT 2023
[11] Dr Mark A Smith, Kellogg One person appointed by the Continuing Education Strategic Management Board MT 2022
[12] Mr Richard Ovenden The Head of Gardens, Libraries and Museums ex officio
[13] Professor Emma J Smith, Hertford One of four members of Congregation elected by Congregation MT 2025
[14] Dr Georgy Kantor, St John’s  As above MT 2023
[15] Dr Andrew Fairweather-Tall, Humanities Divisional Office As above MT 2024
[16] Dr Sarah Ogilvie, Harris Manchester As above MT 2023
[17] Ms Joanna Snelling, Corpus Christi One person elected by the Conference of Colleges MT 2022

Safa Sadozai, Vice-President (Access and Academic Affairs)

Two sabbatical trustees of Oxford University Student Union MT 2022
[19] Devika Devika, Vice-President (Graduates) As above MT 2022
  Dr Perry Gauci Co-opted MT 2022
  Vacancy Co-opted  

Secretary:  Bodley's Librarian and Director of University Library Services (Mr Richard Ovenden OBE, Balliol)
Assisted by: Ms Aristea Gkontra, Administrative Officer (Governance), Planning and Council Secretariat



Meetings are held on the Mondays of second and ninth week of Michaelmas Term and of eighth week in Hilary and Trinity Terms. The suspended second week meetings in Hilary and Trinity Terms might be scheduled again, should they be required.


Date Time Room
Monday 18 October 2021 2.00 pm Microsoft Teams
Tuesday 30 November 2021 2.00 pm Bahari Room, Weston Library
Thursday 10 March 2022 2.00 pm Bahari Room, Weston Library
Monday 13 June 2022 2.00 pm Bahari Room, Weston Library


This page contains minutes from meetings held in the last 5 years.

Should you require minutes from earlier meetings please contact

Meetings 2021-22    
18 October 2021 Agenda Minutes
30 November 2021 Agenda Minutes
10 March 2022   Minutes
Meetings 2020-21    
14 June 2021 Agenda Minutes
8 March 2021 Agenda Minutes
1 December 2020 Agenda Minutes
19 October 2020 Agenda Minutes
Meetings 2019-20    
21 October 2019 Agenda Minutes
3 December 2019 Agenda Minutes
9 March 2020 Agenda Minutes
15 June 2020 Agenda Minutes


Meetings 2018-19    
15 October 2018 Agenda Minutes
3 December 2018 Agenda Minutes
21 January 2019 Agenda Minutes
4 March 2019 Agenda Minutes
17 June 2019 Agenda Minutes


Meetings 2017-18    
16 October 2017 Agenda Minutes
4 December 2017 Agenda Minutes
5 March 2018 Agenda Minutes
11 June 2018 Agenda Minutes


Meetings 2016-17    
17 October 2016 Agenda Minutes
5 December 2016 Agenda Minutes
6 March 2017 Agenda Minutes
8 May 2017 Agenda Minutes
12 June 2017 Agenda Minutes




A revised system for Divisional communication with the Bodleian Libraries regarding libraries provision and strategy, Committees for Library Provision and Strategy (CLiPS), was agreed by Council (29 April 2013). In Trinity Term 2014 Curators of University Libraries reviewed the operation of the CLiPS (see CUL[13/14]70 and related minutes of the meeting of Curators, 16 June 2014).

  • Humanities CLiPS 
  • Medical Sciences CLiPS 
  • Social Sciences CLiPS
  • Continuing Education CLiPs


For the regulations of the Curators of the University Libraries please click here:




Elections for upcoming vacancies for this committee are to be held in Trinity Term 2021. For further details, please click here:


Contact us

Aristea Gkontra

Administrative Officer (Governance)

Planning and Council Secretariat