Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for advising Council on the University’s financial business, in particular capital investment policy. The Committee recommends the annual financial statements of the University and the Press to Council, and approves the University’s banking and treasury arrangements.

Expand All

Membership as at MT 2020 will be as follows

  Name Conditions of appointment Until
[1] Professor Louise Richardson The Vice-Chancellor ex officio
[2] Mr Charles Harman (member of Council until HT 2024) Four external persons appointed by Council, of whom at least two shall be members of Council MT 2023
[3] Mr Andrew Hudson As above HT 2023
[4] Mr Bernard Taylor As above MT 2022
[5] Ms Sue Staunton As above MT 2021
[6] Mr Richard Ovenden, Balliol Two persons appointed by Council from among the members of Council elected by Congregation MT 2021
[7] Professor Tim Coulson, Jesus As above MT 2021
[8] Dame Helen Ghosh, Master of Balliol A Head of House appointed by the Conference of Colleges MT 2022

Co-opted (Subject to the approval of Council on each occasion, the committee may co-opt up to two additional members)

Secretary: Planning and Council Secretariat (Ms Elizabeth Botwright)
14 October 2020
11 November 2020
20 January 2021
22 Feburary 2021
21 April 2021
9 June 2021



Standing Orders


For the regulations of the Finance Committee, please click here:


Contact us

Elizabeth Botwright

Senior Planning Officer

Planning and Council Secretariat

Popular links