Statute X: Degrees, Diplomas, and Certificates

Approved with effect from 1 October 2002
(Supplement (1) to
Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002)
Amended with effect from 14 June 2005 (
Gazette Vol. 135, p. 1174, 16 June 2005), 11 October 2005 (Gazette Vol. 136, p. 184, 13 October 2005), 2 June 2009 (Gazette Vol. 139, p. 1164), 12 October 2010 (Gazette Vol. 141, p. 110, 14 October 2010) and 21 June 2011 (Gazette Vol. 141, p. 724, 16 June 2011), 14 May 2013 (Gazette, Vol. 143, p. 564, 16 May 2013), 27 November 2018 (Gazette, Vol.149, p.163, 29 November 2018) and 15 June 2021 (Gazette, Vol.151, p.433, 27 May 2021).

1. The following degrees shall be conferred by the University:

  • Doctor of Divinity
  • Doctor of Civil Law
  • Doctor of Medicine
  • Doctor of Letters
  • Doctor of Science
  • Doctor of Music
  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Doctor of Clinical Psychology
  • Doctor of Engineering
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Surgery
  • Master of Science
  • Master of Letters
  • Master of Philosophy
  • Master of Studies
  • Magister Juris
  • Master of Theology
  • Master of Business Administration
  • Master of Fine Art
  • Master of Public Policy
  • Master of Biochemistry
  • Master of Biology
  • Master of Chemistry
  • Master of Computer Science
  • Master of Computer Science and Philosophy
  • Master of Earth Sciences
  • Master of Engineering
  • Master of Mathematics
  • Master of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Master of Mathematics and Philosophy
  • Master of Mathematics and Physics
  • Master of Physics
  • Master of Physics and Philosophy
  • Master of Biomedical Sciences
  • Bachelor of Divinity
  • Bachelor of Civil Law
  • Bachelor of Medicine
  • Bachelor of Surgery
  • Bachelor of Music
  • Bachelor of Philosophy
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • Bachelor of Fine Art
  • Bachelor of Theology

2. The University shall award such diplomas and certificates as may be provided for by regulation, and these may be made open to persons who are not members of the University.

3. The periods of residence and the qualifications to be attained for degrees and for diplomas and certificates shall be laid down by regulation.

4. Council shall make arrangements by regulation for the conversion to the appropriate Master's degree of previously awarded degrees of Bachelor of Letters, Bachelor of Philosophy (in a subject other than Philosophy), and Bachelor of Science.

5. (1) Council shall make arrangements by regulation under which members of the Universities of Cambridge and of Dublin may be incorporated as members of this University (that is to say, be admitted to the same degree or position in this University as that to which they have attained in their former university).

(2) Council shall have power to determine:

(a) the members and classes of members of the Universities of Cambridge and of Dublin to which this privilege shall be open;

(b) the conditions upon which the privilege shall be granted in each case.

Search the Legislation


Link to other Statutes


Or select the relevant Statute from the dropdown list below