Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship

The Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship (VC Nominating Committee) is responsible for reporting to Council with a recommendation that a named individual be appointed as the next Vice-Chancellor. Council then submits to Congregation the name of the individual proposed for appointment.

The VC Nominating Committee met during late 2021 and early 2022 to consider a successor to Professor Louise Richardson. The VC Nominating Committee recommended to Council that Professor Irene Tracey, CBE, FMedSci, be appointed as the next Vice-Chancellor from 1 January 2023. The appointment was approved by Congregation in Trinity Term 2022.

The VC Nominating Committee is not expected to meet again until near the end of Professor Tracey’s seven-year term as Vice-Chancellor.

Expand All

Membership as at MT 2022 will be as follows


Name Conditions of Appointment  Until

The Rt Hon the Lord Patten of Barnes

Chancellor ex officio
Mr Miles Young, New College Chair of Conference of Colleges ex officio
Huw Dorkins, St Peter’s College One of four persons, not also being members of Council, elected by Congregation MT 2025
Professor Rebeccah Slater, St John's College As above MT 2029
Professor Martin Maidan, Hertford College As above MT 2025
Vacancy (vice Dr Sam Wolfe, St Catherine's College) As above MT 2029
Professor Nandini Gooptu, St Antony’s College One of three persons appointed by Council, of whom, if the Chancellor is to chair the committee personally, one shall be one of the external members of Council MT 2025
Dr Maheshi Ramasamy, Magdalen College As above MT 2025

Charles Harman (external member of Council)

As above HT 2023
Professor Gavin Screaton (Medical Sciences) One person appointed by each of the divisional boards MT 2025
Professor Melinda Mills, Nuffield (Social Sciences) As above MT 2025
TBC (vice Professor Julia Smith, Chichele Professor of Medieval History, All Souls (Humanities)) As above MT 2029
TBC (vice Professor Sam Howison, Christ Church (MPLS)) As above MT 2029
Baroness Jan Royall, Principal of Somerville A person, not also being a member of Council, elected by the Conference of Colleges MT 2025
Also attending (the Committee may allow two student representatives and one early career research representative to attend as non-voting attendees):
Anvee Bhutani, President of Oxford SU    
Devika Devika, Vice-President (Graduates) of Oxford SU    
Dr Ed Darnbrough, Career Development Fellow, Department of Materials    
Secretary: Mr Antony Willott



For the regulations of the Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship, please click here:


Contact us

Antony Willott

Director of Planning and Council Secretariat