Personnel Committee Membership

  Name Conditions of appointment Until


Professor Anne Trefethen, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (People and GLAM) (Chair)

Vice the Pro-Vice Chancellor (Personnel and Equality), who shall chair the committee

ex officio


Professor Sir Rory Collins, St John’s

A member of Council appointed by Council

HT 2021


Professor Simon Horobin, Magdalen

The Senior Proctor

ex officio


Professor Freya Johnston, St Anne's

The Junior Proctor

ex officio


Dr Helen Swift, St Hilda's

The Assessor

ex officio


Dr Mark Wormald, Corpus Christi

The Chair of the Committee of Senior Tutors 

ex officio


Professor Karen O'Brien, University

The Head of the Division of Humanities

ex officio


Professor Sam Howison, Christ Church (Acting Head)

The Head of the Division of Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences

ex officio


Professor Gavin Screaton  The Head of the Division of Medical Sciences

ex officio


Professor Dame Sarah Whatmore, Keble

The Head of the Division of Social Sciences

ex officio


Mr Bob Price  One external member appointed by Council  MT 2021


Professor John Watts, Corpus Christi

One person appointed by the Humanities Divisional Board

MT 2021


Mr Ian Wright, Department of Earth Sciences

One person appointed by the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Divisional Board

MT 2022


Professor Helen McShane, Medical Sciences and Oxford Martin School

One person appointed by the Medical Sciences Divisional Board

HT 2024


Professor Margaret Stevens, Lincoln One person appointed by the Social Sciences Divisional Board

TT 2023

Co-opted (The committee may co-opt up to six additional members on condition that the range of interests and concerns in the faculties, departments, and academic services of the University, and in the colleges, societies, and Permanent Private Halls, is as fully reflected within the total membership of the committee as is reasonably practicable.)


Professor Ian Watson, Christ Church (Vice-Chair)


MT 2021


Dr Rebecca Surender, Advocate for Equality and Diversity and PVC, Green Templeton


HT 2021

  Ms Laura How, CEO Bodleian Libraries  

HT 2023


Dr Laura Van Broekhoven, Director of the Pitt Rivers Museum in Oxford, Linacre


MT 2021

  Dr Helen Moore, Representative for the Conference of Colleges, Corpus Christi   MT 2023

Secretary: Director of Human Resources (Mr Julian Duxfield)