Divisional Board Elections: Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board (Mathematics) MT2023


One person elected by and from among the members of the Faculty of Mathematics to serve until the start of MT 2027 [vice Professor Dmitry Belyaev]

We have received the following nomination/s.


General Information about this constituency

This constituency is comprised of two persons elected by and from among the members of the Faculty of Mathematics. 

Elections to this constituency restrict candidates to persons, as defined in Statute I. This means that all full members of the named faculty are eligible to nominate a candidate or to vote, but prospective candidates who want to stand for election must be a member of the named faculty and the resident holder of a teaching, research, or administrative post in the University or in any college, society, or Permanent Private Hall.

The board meets twice a term, on Fridays of Weeks 2 and 7, with meetings lasting for up to 2 hours. The MPLS Board is the primary legislative body for the division, but also acts as a forum for strategic discussion and a conduit for leading and facilitating change. Recent meetings have included sessions on inclusive chairing of meetings, neurodiversity, and the MPLS financial position and Five-Year Plan. Each meeting starts with a short ‘science highlight’ from a department which showcases the excellent research found across the division and reminds the board why we are all here. MPLS welcomes nominations from staff who would bring a diversity of points of view to discussion. That might include, but is not limited to, working in an interdisciplinary research area, perspectives gained from working outside Oxford, or staff at earlier career stages or from under-represented groups.

The terms of reference and membership of this body are set out in Council Regulations 17 of 2002.

For further information, please contact the Divisional Registrar (tracy.gale@mpls.ox.ac.uk).

General Notes

The elections on 8 June 2023 will be conducted electronically.


Hard copies of nomination forms will not be processed. Nominations must be made on an official nomination form. Completed nomination forms must be sent as an email attachment to the Elections Office by 4pm on Thursday, 11 May. Please ensure that the nominators listed in section D are also copied into the email when the nomination form is submitted, as this will act as verification of the nomination in lieu of supplying original signatures.

General requirements and eligibility

All candidates are asked to note the general requirements which apply to all committee members, as set out in Council Regulations 14 of 2002 (General Regulations of Council for Committees). Current members seeking re-election are also asked to check for specific restrictions on consecutive service. For further information, please see the eligibility and amendments to nominations sections within the Information about University elections pages of the Elections website.

Candidate’s statement

Candidates are invited to include with their nomination forms a written statement of no more than 250 words, setting out their reasons for standing and qualifications for the office being sought. In the event of a contested election, these statements will be published both online and in the Gazette. 

Contested elections

In the event of a contested election, the successful candidates will be determined by an electronic ballot. An email with further instructions will be sent to eligible voters on Wednesday 24 May, using the email addresses provided in the electronic register of Congregation (NB with few exceptions, notably clinical staff, this will be the work address ending ‘ox. ac.uk’). Candidates’ statements will also be published in the Gazette dated 25 May. Voters may wish to read these statements before completing their electronic vote. The voting period will close at 4pm on 8 June.

Uncontested elections

If the number of nominations received by the closing date is no more than sufficient to fill the vacancies, the candidates nominated shall be deemed to be duly elected as of the close of the nomination period on Thursday, 11 May. When required, places will be allocated according to academic standing, as defined in Council Regulations 22 of 2002, Part 2: Academic Precedence and Standing. If the number of nominations received by the closing date is less than sufficient to fill the vacancies, those candidates nominated will be deemed elected unopposed, and the remaining vacancies will lapse, in which case, in accordance with the regulations, the places must remain vacant until appointments are made jointly by the Vice-Chancellor and Proctors.

Period of office

All vacancies are from the beginning of MT 2023 unless otherwise stated. In accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002, in any election where vacancies are to be filled for periods of different length, the elected candidates shall hold office so that the tenure of those who receive more votes shall be longer than that of those who receive fewer votes; but if the election is uncontested or if two candidates receive the same number of votes, the candidate senior in academic standing shall hold office for the longer period. 

Further information 

For further information, please contact the Elections Office (elections.office@ admin.ox.ac.uk).



Nominations for elections to this constituency are published weekly in the Gazette and on this website as they are received and processed. The details of any nominations received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.


The following nomination has been received:

Professor Radek Erban, MA Oxf, Mgr RNDr Prague, PhD Minnesota, Merton, Faculty of Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Nominated by:

Professor Ruth Baker, St Hugh's, Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor Dmitry Belyaev , St Anne’s, Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor Jon Chapman, Mansfield , Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor Alain Goriely, St Catherine's , Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor Peter Howell, University, Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor Philip Maini, St John's, Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor James Sparks, Oriel, Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Professor Sarah Waters , St Anne's, Mathematics, Mathematical Institute


Contested elections

Candidate statements

In the event of a contested election, candidate statements will be published in the Gazette and on this website. The details of any candidate's statements received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.

Elections to this body


Current members of this committee


Contact the Elections Officer

For further information, please email the Elections Office.

University of Oxford elections

For general information on the election(s) to a specific committee see this list

or, select the constituency from the list below