General Purposes Committee

The General Purposes Committee (GPC) advises Council on policy in respect of issues or activities which are university-wide and transcend the remit of the other main committees of Council or other specialist committees as appropriate. Its remit includes responsibility for strategic issues relating to risk management.

Expand All

Membership as at TT 2021 will be as follows:

  Name Conditions of appointment Until
[1] Professor Louise Richardson The Vice-Chancellor ex officio
[2] Ms Lucinda Rumsey, Mansfield The Senior Proctor ex officio
[3] Dr David Johnson, St Antony's The Junior Proctor ex officio
[4] Dr Bettina Lange, Wolfson The Assessor ex officio
[5] Mr Miles Young, New College The Chair of the Conference of Colleges ex officio
[6] Professor Karen O’Brien, University The Head of the Division of Humanities ex officio
[7] Professor Sam Howison, Christ Church (Acting Head) The Head of the Division of Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences ex officio
 [8] Professor Gavin Screaton The Head of the Division of Medical Sciences ex officio
[9] Professor Dame Sarah Whatmore, Keble The Head of the Division of Social Sciences ex officio
[10] Professor Aditi Lahiri, Somerville One of three persons appointed by Council from among the members of Council specified in section 4 (15)-(25) of Statute VI [i.e. those members elected by Congregation] MT 2022
[11] Mr Richard Ovenden, Balliol As above MT 2021
[12] Professor Fabian Essler, Worcester As above MT 2021
[13] Nikita Ma The President of the Oxford University Student Union ex officio
Secretary: Council Secretariat (Ms Rebecca Thomas)

These meetings begin at 11.00am unless notified otherwise





Michaelmas Term 2020



Week 2

19 October 2020
(by correspondence)

5 October 2020

Week 6

16 November 2020

2 November 2020

Week 10

14 December 2020
(by correspondence)

30 November 2020

Hilary Term 2021



Week 2

25 January 2021
(by correspondence)

11 January 2021

Week 6

22 February 2021

8 February 2021

Week 10

22 March 2021
(by correspondence)

8 March 2021

Trinity Term 2021



Week 2

4 May 2021*

19 April 2021

Week 6

1 June 2021*
(by correspondence)

17 May 2021

Week 10

28 June 2021

14 June 2021


*Tuesday to avoid a Bank Holiday


For the regulations of the General Purposes Committee please click here:


Contact us

Rebecca Thomas

Senior Admininstrative Officer (Governance)

Planning and Council Secretariat