Statute V: Colleges, Societies, and Permanent Private Halls

(Section 1 is a 'King-in-Council' statute – see section 2 (2) of Statute IV.)

Approved with effect from 1 October 2002
(Supplement (1) to
Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002)
Amended with effect from 17 July 2003, 12 October 2010 (
Gazette, Vol. 141, p. 110, 14 October 2010), 17 January 2012 (Gazette, Vol. 142, p. 243, 19 January 2012), 30 May 2012 (Gazette, Vol. 142, 14 June 2012, p. 588), 7 May 2019 (Gazette, Vol.149, p444, 16 May 2019), 30 June 2020 (Gazette, Vol.150, p429, 11 June 2020) and 29 November 2022 (Gazette, Vol.153, p.106, 10 November 2022). NB the latest change, to remove St Benet's Hall from the list of PPHs, is yet to be made in the published Statute as it is awaiting approval from the Privy Council.

Expand All

1. The following foundations in Oxford for academic study are recognised as colleges of the University:

  • All Souls College
  • Balliol College
  • Brasenose College
  • Christ Church
  • Corpus Christi College
  • Exeter College
  • Green Templeton College
  • Hertford College
  • Jesus College
  • Keble College
  • Lady Margaret Hall
  • Linacre College
  • Lincoln College
  • Magdalen College
  • Manchester Academy and Harris College
  • Mansfield College
  • Merton College
  • New College
  • Nuffield College
  • Oriel College
  • Pembroke College
  • Queen's College
  • St Anne's College
  • St Antony's College
  • St Catherine's College
  • St Edmund Hall
  • St Hilda's College
  • St Hugh's College
  • St John's College
  • St Peter's College
  • Somerville College
  • Trinity College
  • University College
  • Wadham College
  • Wolfson College
  • Worcester College

2. The University may, by statute subject to the approval of His Majesty in Council, add further foundations to those listed in section 1 of this statute.

    3. The University may establish and maintain institutions to be known as societies.

    4. The membership and governance of a society and the rights, privileges, and obligations of a society and its officers shall be provided for in regulations.

    5. The following are societies of the University:

    Kellogg College
    Reuben College
    St Cross College

    6. The University may add further institutions to those listed in section 5 of this statute.

    7. The University has granted each of the following institutions the status of Permanent Private Hall of the University:

    Blackfriars Hall
    Campion Hall
    Regent's Park College
    St Benet's Hall
    St Stephen's House
    Wycliffe Hall

    8. The terms on which the status is granted, and the circumstances in which the status may be revoked or surrendered, are set out in an Agreement between the University and each institution. Revocation other than on the grounds of an institution's insolvency or dissolution shall require the consent of Council and Congregation.

    9. The status may be granted to other institutions on similar terms, but only with the consent of Council and Congregation.

    Search the Legislation


    Link to other Statutes


    Or select the relevant Statute from the dropdown list below