Elections by Congregation: Curators of the University Libraries MT2023


Two members of Congregation elected by Congregation, to serve until the start of MT 2027 [vice Dr Georgy Kantor and Dr Sarah Ogilvie]

We have received the following nomination/s.

General Information about this constituency

This constituency is comprised of four members of Congregation elected by Congregation.

Elections to this constituency are open to all members of Congregation. This means that all members of Congregation are eligible to stand for election, to nominate a candidate or to vote. Nominations from a diverse range of Congregation members are encouraged, particularly those from underrepresented groups. 

The full term of office is four years (or less, when a by-election is held to fill the residue of the term of office for an elected member who is standing down early).

The terms of reference and composition of this body are set out in Part 24 of Council Regulations 15 of 2002. The current membership page also has useful headnotes.

The Curators of the University Libraries meet 4 times per academic year (there are two meetings in MT, one in HT and one in TT). Meetings last about two hours and papers are circulated in advance. Curators are not expected to serve on additional subcommittees/groups (save for the Chair of the University Archives subcommittee, who is appointed by the Curators from amongst their own number). The Curators would welcome candidates with an interest in the work of the University Libraries.

For further information, please contact the Secretary (richard.ovenden@bodley.ox.ac.uk)


General Notes

The elections on 8 June 2023 will be conducted electronically.


Hard copies of nomination forms will not be processed. Nominations must be made on an official nomination form. Completed nomination forms must be sent as an email attachment to the Elections Office by 4pm on Thursday, 11 May. Please ensure that the nominators listed in section D are also copied into the email when the nomination form is submitted, as this will act as verification of the nomination in lieu of supplying original signatures.

General requirements and eligibility

All candidates are asked to note the general requirements which apply to all committee members, as set out in Council Regulations 14 of 2002 (General Regulations of Council for Committees). Current members seeking re-election are also asked to check for specific restrictions on consecutive service. For further information, please see the eligibility and amendments to nominations sections within the Information about University elections pages of the Elections website.

Candidate’s statement

Candidates are invited to include with their nomination forms a written statement of no more than 250 words, setting out their reasons for standing and qualifications for the office being sought. In the event of a contested election, these statements will be published both online and in the Gazette. 

Contested elections

In the event of a contested election, the successful candidates will be determined by an electronic ballot. An email with further instructions will be sent to eligible voters on Wednesday 24 May, using the email addresses provided in the electronic register of Congregation (NB with few exceptions, notably clinical staff, this will be the work address ending ‘ox. ac.uk’). Candidates’ statements will also be published in the Gazette dated 25 May. Voters may wish to read these statements before completing their electronic vote. The voting period will close at 4pm on 8 June.

Uncontested elections

If the number of nominations received by the closing date is no more than sufficient to fill the vacancies, the candidates nominated shall be deemed to be duly elected as of the close of the nomination period on Thursday, 11 May. When required, places will be allocated according to academic standing, as defined in Council Regulations 22 of 2002, Part 2: Academic Precedence and Standing. If the number of nominations received by the closing date is less than sufficient to fill the vacancies, those candidates nominated will be deemed elected unopposed, and the remaining vacancies will lapse, in which case, in accordance with the regulations, the places must remain vacant until appointments are made jointly by the Vice-Chancellor and Proctors.

Period of office

All vacancies are from the beginning of MT 2023 unless otherwise stated. In accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002, in any election where vacancies are to be filled for periods of different length, the elected candidates shall hold office so that the tenure of those who receive more votes shall be longer than that of those who receive fewer votes; but if the election is uncontested or if two candidates receive the same number of votes, the candidate senior in academic standing shall hold office for the longer period. 

Further information 

For further information, please contact the Elections Office (elections.office@ admin.ox.ac.uk).



Nominations for elections to this constituency are published weekly in the Gazette and on this website as they are received and processed. The details of any nominations received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.


Dr Helen Gittos, BA Newc, MSt DPhil Oxf, Balliol, Faculty of History

Nominated by:

Canon Professor Sarah Foot, Censor Theologiae and Dean Designate, Christ Church, Faculty of Theology and Religion

Professor Phil Booth, St Peter’s, Faculty of Theology and Religion

Professor Martin Conway, Balliol, Faculty of History

Professor John-Paul Ghobrial, Balliol, Faculty of History

Professor Helena Hamerow, St Cross, School of Archaeology

Professor Henrike Lähnemann, St Edmund Hall, Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages

Dr Timothy Michael, Lincoln, Faculty of English

Professor Llewelyn Morgan, Brasenose, Sub-faculty of Classical Languages and Literature

Professor Seamus Perry, Balliol, Faculty of English
Dr Alan Strathern, Brasenose, Faculty of History



The following nomination has been received:

Dr Georgy Kantor, MA MPhil DPhil Oxf, MA Russian State University for Humanities, St John’s, Faculty of Classics

Nominated by:

Fra’ John S. C.  Eidinow , Merton, Faculty of Classics

Professor Edmund Herzig, Wadham, Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Professor Gregory O. Hutchinson, Christ Church, Faculty of Classics

Dr Neil B. McLynn, Corpus Christi, Faculty of Classics

Professor David Parrott, New College, Faculty of History

Dr William Poole, New College, Faculty of English

Professor Josephine Quinn, Worcester, Faculty of Classics

Professor Tobias Reinhardt , Corpus Christi, Faculty of Classics

Professor Katherine Southwood, St John’s , Faculty of Theology and Religion

Professor Peter Thonemann, Wadham, Faculty of Classics


Contested elections

Candidate statements

In the event of a contested election, candidate statements will be published in the Gazette and on this website. The details of any candidate's statements received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.

Elections to this body


Current members of this committee


Contact the Elections Officer

For further information, please email the Elections Office.

University of Oxford elections

For general information on the election(s) to a specific committee see this list

or, select the constituency from the list below