Elections by Congregation: Curators of the University Libraries - TT 2021


Following the close of the nomination period, the candidate(s) listed below were deemed to have been elected unopposed to hold office for the period stated.



One member of Congregation elected by Congregation, to serve until the start of MT 2025 [vice Professor Emma Smith]

General Notes

Electronic elections

Due to current COVID-19 restrictions, the elections on 10 June will be conducted electronically.


Hard copies of nomination forms will not be processed. Completed nomination forms should be sent as an email attachment to the Elections Office by 4pm on 13 May. At least one nomination in respect of each candidate must be made on an official nomination form.  Please ensure that the nominators listed in section D are also copied into the email when the nomination form is submitted, as this will act as verification of the nomination in lieu of supplying original signatures.

General requirements and eligibility

All candidates are asked to note the general requirements which apply to all committee members, as set out in Council Regulations 14 of 2002 (General Regulations of Council for Committees).  Current members seeking re-election are also asked to check for specific restrictions on consecutive service. For further information, please see the eligibility and amendments to nominations sections within the Information about University elections pages of the Elections website.

Candidate’s statement

Candidates are invited to include with their nomination forms a written statement of no more than 250 words, setting out their reasons for standing and qualifications for the office being sought. In the event of a contested election, these statements will be published both on-line and in the Gazette.

Contested elections

In the event of a contested election, the successful candidates will be determined by an electronic ballot. A registration email with further instructions will be sent to eligible voters on Wednesday 26 May, using the email addresses provided in the electronic register of Congregation (NB with few exceptions, notably clinical staff, this will be the work address ending ‘ox.ac.uk’). Voters will need to respond to the email to confirm their registration and to receive links to the candidate statements and to vote. Candidates’ statements will also be published in the Gazette dated 27 May. Voters may wish to read these statements before completing their electronic vote. The voting period will close at 4pm on 10 June.

Uncontested elections

If the number of nominations received by the closing date is no more than sufficient to fill the vacancies, the candidates nominated shall be deemed to be duly elected as of the close of the nomination period on Thursday, 13 May. When required, places will be allocated according to academic standing, as defined in Council Regulations 22 of 2002, Part 2: Academic Precedence and Standing. If the number of nominations received by the closing date is less than sufficient to fill the vacancies, those candidates nominated will be deemed elected unopposed, and the remaining vacancies will lapse, in which case, in accordance with the regulations, the places must remain vacant until appointments are made jointly by the Vice- Chancellor and Proctors.

Period of office

All vacancies are from the beginning of MT 2021 unless otherwise stated. In accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002, in any election where vacancies are to be filled for periods of different length, the elected candidates shall hold office so that the tenure of those who receive more votes shall be longer than that of those who receive fewer votes; but if the election is uncontested or if two candidates receive the same number of votes, the candidate senior in academic standing shall hold office for the longer period.

Further information

For further information, please contact the Elections Office

General Information about this constituency

This constituency is comprised of four members of Congregation elected by Congregation.

Elections to this constituency are open to all members of Congregation. This means that all members of Congregation are eligible to stand for election, to nominate a candidate or to vote.

The full term of office is four years (or less, when a by-election is held to fill the residue of the term of office for an elected member who is standing down early).

The terms of reference and membership of this body are set out in Part 24 of Council Regulations 15 of 2002

For further information, please contact the Secretary



Nominations for elections to this constituency are published weekly in the Gazette and on this website as they are received and processed. The details of any nominations received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.


Professor Emma Smith, MA DPhil (Oxford), Fellow of Hertford College, Faculty of English Language and Literature

Nominated by:

Tom Fletcher, Principal of Hertford

Judith Buchanan, Master of St Peter's

Abi Adams-Prassl, Nuffield, Economics

Ros Ballaster, Mansfield, English

Andrew Fairweather-Tall, Corpus Christi, Humanities Division

Martin Maiden, Hertford, Zoology

Richard Ovenden, Balliol, Bodleian Libraries

John Watts, Mansfield, History

Contested elections

Candidate statements

In the event of a contested election, candidate statements will be published in the Gazette and on this website. The details of any candidate's statements received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.

Elections to this body


Current members of this committee


Contact the Elections Officer

For further information, please email the Elections Office.

University of Oxford elections

For general information on the election(s) to a specific committee see this list

or, select the constituency from the list below