Elections by Congregation: Curators of the University Parks - MT 2020


Following the close of the nomination period, the candidate(s) listed below were deemed to have been elected unopposed to hold office for the period stated


One person elected by Congregation, to serve until the start of Michaelmas Term 2026 [vice Dr Amy Zavatsky, St Edmund Hall] 



Nominations for elections to this constituency are published weekly in the Gazette and on this website as they are received and processed. The details of any nominations received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.


Dr Laura M Rival, BA UBC MPhil PhD LSE, Linacre, ODID & SAME, Social Sciences

Nominated by:

Professor Kathy Willis, Principal of St Edmund Hall, Zoology 
Professor Alex Betts, Brasenose, International Development
Professor Amy Bogaard, St Cross, Archaeology
Dr Morgan Clarke, Keble, Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Dr Emma Cohen, Wadham, Anthropology and Museum Ethnography
Professor David Gellner, All Souls, Anthropology and Museum Ethnography
Dr Laura Van Broekhoven, Pitt Rivers Museum

General notes

Elections General Notes 2020 Michaelmas Term (week 7)

Please note: due to current Covid-19 restrictions, the MT 2020 elections by Congregation will be conducted electronically. Hard copies of nomination forms will not be processed. Nominations in writing for the elections on 26 November, by four members of Congregation other than the candidate, must be sent as an email attachment to the Elections Officer (elections.office@admin.ox.ac.uk) before 4 p.m. on Thursday 29 October 2020.

At least one nomination in respect of each candidate must be made on an official nomination form.

All candidates are asked to note the general requirements which apply to all committee members, as set out in Council Regulations 14 of 2002 (General Regulations of Council for Committees). Current members seeking re-election are also asked to check for specific restrictions on consecutive service. For further information, please see the eligibility and amendments to nominations sections within the Information about University elections pages of this site.

Candidates are invited to include with their nomination forms, a written statement of no more than 250 words, setting out his or her reasons for standing and qualifications for the office being sought.

In the event of a contested election, the successful candidates will be determined by an electronic ballot of the eligible electorate.  The ballot will be administered by Civica Ltd (CES Votes) on behalf of the University of Oxford. An email with further instructions will be sent to eligible voters on Tuesday, 10 November, using the email addresses provided in the electronic register of Congregation (n.b. with few exceptions, notably clinical staff, this will be the work address ending “ox.ac.uk”). The email from CES Votes will contain links to the candidates’ statements and a unique link to the voting website: when voters click on the link, they will be taken to the voting website where they can cast their vote. Candidates' statements will also be published in the Gazette dated 12 November. Voters may wish to read these statements before completing their electronic vote. The voting period will close at 4 p.m. on 26 November.

If the number of nominations received by the closing date is no more than sufficient to fill the vacancies, the candidates nominated shall be deemed to be duly elected as of the close of the nomination period on Thursday, 29 October. When required, places will be allocated according to academic standing, as defined in Council Regulations 22 of 2002, Part 2: Academic Precedence and Standing, made by Council on 26 June 2002.

If the number of nominations received by the closing date is less than sufficient to fill the vacancies, those candidates nominated will be deemed elected unopposed, and the remaining vacancies will lapse, in which case, in accordance with the regulations, the places must remain vacant until appointments are made jointly by the Vice-Chancellor and Proctors.

For further information, please contact the Elections Officer.

General Information about this constituency

This constituency is comprised of two persons elected by Congregation.

Elections to this constituency restrict candidates to persons, as defined in Statute I. This means that all members of Congregation are eligible to nominate a candidate or to vote, but prospective candidates who want to stand for election must be the resident holder of a teaching, research, or administrative post in the University or in any college, society, or Permanent Private Hall.

The full term of office is six years (or less, when a by-election is held to fill the residue of the term of office for an elected member who is standing down early).

The terms of reference and membership of this body are set out in Council Regulations 2 of 2004: Part 10

For further information, please contact the Secretary 

Contested elections

Candidate statements

In the event of a contested election, candidate statements will be published in the Gazette and on this website. The details of any candidate's statements received can be seen by clicking on the candidate's surname in any adjacent tabs.

Elections to this body


Current members of this committee


Contact the Elections Officer

For further information, please email the Elections Office.

University of Oxford elections

For general information on the election(s) to a specific committee see this list

or, select the constituency from the list below