Joint Fees and Student Support Advisory Group (JFSSAG)

Terms of reference

The group will advise PRAC and Education Committee and the Conference of Colleges on the following matters:

  1. The principles that should govern the setting of course fees and provision of student support;


  1. Policy over the provision of student support, including fee waivers, bursaries and scholarships;


  1. The structure and level of fees charged for programmes of study, to include:
    • Undergraduate, Postgraduate Taught, and Postgraduate Research fees, and the relationship between them;
    • Home/EU and Overseas fees, and the relationship between them;
    • Policy over fee liability, including the length of time for which fees are levied;
  2. The structure and level of other university and college fees and charges to students or other candidates for examinations (but not charges for accommodation or food), including:
    • fees for visiting and recognised students and for matriculated non-award students;
    • continuation charges for PGR programmes;
    • fees levied on candidates for examinations;


  1. Policy over fees payable by non-matriculated students studying for certificates and diplomas, and for non-award bearing courses;


  1. The annual programme for the setting and publication of fee schedules.



Name Position
Dr David Prout Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning & Resources)
Dame Helen Ghosh Master, Balliol College
Professor Martin Williams Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Professor Helen Swift Assessor
Professor Christopher Timpson Board Chair, Philosophy Faculty
Professor Marta Kwiatkowska Associate Head of Division (Finance)
Professor David Vaux Deputy Head of MSD (Education)
Professor Peter Kemp Professor of Public Policy, Blavatnik
Professor Jonathan Michie Director of the Department for Continuing Education
Dr Andrew Bell Senior Tutor, University College
Mr Charles Alexander Finance Bursar, Merton College
Baroness Jan Royall Principal, Somerville College
Mr Tucker Drew Oxford SU VP (Access & Academic Affairs)
Ms Lauren Bolz Oxford SU VP (Graduates)


Attending Officers

Name Position
Ms Judith Finch Director of Conference of Colleges Secretariat
Mr David White Director of Student Fees and Funding
Ms Alison Broadby Head of Planning and Resources (Humanities)
Ms Anne Vallins-Hooper Head of Education Planning and Policy (MPLS)
Ms Jane Dale Senior Assistant Registrar (Education) (MSD)
Dr Lindsay Rudge Senior Assistant Registrar (Education) (SSD)
Dr Samina Khan Director of Undergraduate Admissions
Dr Nadia Pollini Director of Graduate Admissions
Ms Nicola Cooper-Harvey Head of Student Fees and Funding
Ms Jo Barry Head of Student Fees and Funding
Mr Kristoffer Tiffen Senior Planning Officer
Mr James Bennett Planning Officer



Meeting Dates

Date   Time Location

1 October 2020

  10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams

22 October 2020                              

  10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams

19 November 2020

  10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams

28 January 2021

  10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams

25 February 2021

  10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams

6 May 2021

  10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams
3 June 2021   10:00 am - 12:00 noon MS Teams

Contact us

Planning and Council Secretariat

Kristoffer Tiffen

+44 01865 (2)80756