Joint Student Number Planning Sub-Committee

Terms of reference

The group will advise PRAC and Education Committee and the Conference of Colleges on the following matters:

a. The principles that should govern the setting of university and college fees and provision of student support;

b. Policy over the provision of student support, including fee waivers, bursaries and scholarships;

c. The structure and level of fees charged for programmes of study, to include: i. Undergraduate, Postgraduate Taught, and Postgraduate Research fees, and the relationship between them; ii. Home/EU and Overseas fees, and the relationship between them; iii. University and College fees, and the relationship between them; iv. Policy over fee liability, including the length of time for which fees are levied;

d. The structure and level of other university and college fees and charges to students or other candidates for examinations (but not charges for accommodation or food), including: i. fees for visiting and registered students and for matriculated non-award students; ii. continuation charges for PGR programmes; iii. fees levied on candidates for examinations;

e. Policy over fees payable by non-matriculated students studying for certificates and diplomas, and for non-award bearing courses;

f. The annual programme for the setting and publication of fee schedules.


    Name Position Until
    Dr David Prout Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning & Resources) Ex-officio
    Sir Jonathan Phillips Warden of Keble MT 2022
    Professor Martin Williams Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) Ex-officio
    Professor Sophie Marnette Junior Proctor Ex-officio
    Dr Benjamin Thompson Associate Professor of Medieval History MT 2021
    Professor Michael Bonsall Associate Head of MPLS (Education) MT 2020
    Professor David Vaux Deputy Head of MSD (Education) MT 2022
    Professor Sarah Whatmore Head of the Social Sciences Division MT 2021
    Professor Jonathan Michie Director of the Department for Continuing Education MT 2021
    Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt Principal of Jesus College MT 2022
    Dr Nicky Trott Senior Tutor, Balliol MT 2022
    Ms Sally Layburn Bursar, St. John's College MT 2021
    Mr Neil Misra Oxford SU VP (Graduates) MT 2020

    Attending Officers

    Name Position
    Professor Martin Maiden Senior Proctor
    Dr Chris Ballinger Academic Dean, Exeter College
    Ms Caroline Pack Conference of Colleges Secretariat
    Ms Karen Brill Head of Planning and Resources (Humanities)
    Ms Anne Vallins-Hooper MPLS
    Ms Jane Dale Senior Assistant Registrar (Education) (MSD)
    Ms Lindsay Rudge Senior Assistant Registrar (Education) (SSD)
    Ms Nicola Roberts Finance Manager (OUDCE)
    Dr Nadia Pollini Director of Graduate Admissions and Funding
    Mr David Gibson Director of Education Policy Support
    Dr Saira Shaikh Academic Registrar
    Dr Rachel Cox Senior Planning Officer
    Mr Kristoffer Tiffen Planning Officer
    Mr James Bennett PACS


    Meeting Dates

    Date Time

    29 October 2020 (MT 3rd week)

    10.15 am - 11.30 am
    2 December 2020 (MT 8th week) 10.30 am - 11.30 am
    10 February 2021 (HT 4th Week) 10.00 am - 11.30 am
    12 May 2021 (TT 3rd Week) 10.00 am - 11.30 am
    2 June 2021 (TT 6th Week) 10.00 am - 11.30 am

    Contact us

    Planning and Council Secretariat

    Kristoffer Tiffen

    +44 01865 (2)80756