Environmental Sustainability Subcommittee

Environmental Sustainability Subcommittee (ESSC) is a subcommittee of the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee (PRAC). The subcommittee oversees the implementation of the University’s Environmental Sustainability Strategy which includes a timeline to achieve net zero carbon and biodiversity net gain by 2035. It is responsible fo the Oxford Sustainability fund, overseeing the income and expenditure and making recommendations on the annual budget to PRAC. 

Membership as at TT 2023 will be as follows


Name Conditions of Appointment  Until
[1] Dr David Prout The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources) who shall chair the subcommittee ex officio
[2] Professor Matthew Weait The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) (nominee) ex officio
[3] Dr Andy Gilchrist The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) (or nominee) ex officio
[4] Joanne Mason The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (People and Digital) (or nominee) ex officio
[5] Jo Sibbald The Director of Finance (or nominee) ex officio
[6] Isobel Hughes Director of Operations, Estates Services (nominee) ex officio
[7] Professor Graham Taylor One representative of each of the academic divisions with relevant expertise, appointed by the head of each division, respectively MT 2024
[8] Professor Myles Allen As above MT 2024
[9] Professor Peter Scarborough As above MT 2024
[10] Professor Daniel Grimley As above MT 2024
[11] Kevin Rodd A representative of Garden, Libraries and Museums with relevant expertise, appointed by the Head of Gardens, Libraries and Museums; MT 2024
[12] Susan Lawrance A representative from the Department for Continuing Education with relevant expertise, appointed by the director of the department; MT 2024
[13] Dr Sir Michael Jacobs A representative of the Conference of Colleges, elected by the Conference of Colleges; MT 2024
[14] Anna-Tina Jashapara One sabbatical trustee of the Oxford University Student Union ex officio

Dr Nick Leimu-Brown 

Chair of Building Estates Subcommittee (BESC) ex officio
[16] Junior Proctor One of the Proctors or the Assessor as may be agreed between them ex officio

The subcommittee may co-opt up to six additional members with relevant expertise in environmental sustainability who shall hold office for such period as the committee may determine.

Professor Malcolm McCulloch     MT 2024
Kaya Axelsson     MT 2024
Professor Tim Schwanen     MT 2024
Luke Bramwell     MT 2024
Professor EJ Milner-Gulland     MT 2024
Professor Kathy Willis      
Secretary: Planning and Council Secretariat (Genieve Boon)


Attending Officers

  • Ed Wigzell
  • Harriet Waters
  • Isobel Hughes
  • Joanne Murraybrown
  • Kristoffer Tiffen
  • Naomi Ginnever
  • Nick Riley
  • Vered Balan
  • Genieve Boon (Secretary)

Michaelmas Term 2022

Date Time
Thursday 13 October 14.30 - 16.00 

Tuesday 8 December

14.00 - 15.30 

Hilary Term 2023

Date Time
Thursday 19 January 14.00 - 15.30
Tuesday 14 March 14.00 - 15.30

Trinity Term 2023

Date Time
Thursday 27 April 14.00 - 15.30
Wednesday 14 June 10.00 - 11.30



For the regulations of the Environmental Sustainability Subcommittee, please click here:


For the regulations of the Environmental Sustainability Subcommittee, please click here:


Contact us

Genieve Boon

Senior Planning Officer (Planning)

Planning and Council Secretariat