Buildings and Estates Subcommittee (BESC)

Buildings and Estates Subcommittte (BESC) is a subcommittee of the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee (PRAC). It is responsible for management and maintenance of the functional estate, except for matters which are the responsibility of divisions, the Capital Steering Group and other bodies. It considers and advises PRAC on the allocation of land and property and oversees repairs and maintenance programmes. 

Expand All

Membership as at MT 2022 will be as follows

Name Position Conditions of Appointment Until
Dr Nick Brown Principal of Linacre A Chair appointed by Council who shall also serve on the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee of Council HT 2024
Dr David Prout The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources) The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources) Ex officio
Professor Dan Grimley  Head of Humanities Division A person appointed by the Humanities Divisional Board MT 2023
Professor Graham Taylor Associate Head (Estates and Capital Planning) A person appointed by the MPLS Divisional Board MT 2025
Dr Brid Cronin Head of Strategic Planning and Projects (MSD) A person appointed by the Medical Sciences Divisional Board MT 2025
Professor Timothy Power  Head of Social Sciences Division A person nominated by the Social Sciences Divisional Board MT 2024
Richard Ovenden Bodley's Librarian The Director of University Library Services and Bodley's Librarian or a person nominated by the Director Ex officio
Dr Alexander Sturgis Director of the Ashmolean Museum A person appointed by the Gardens, Libraries and Museums Board from among the directors of the University's museums MT 2025
Professor Andrew Martin, Kellog Professor of Systems Security (Department of Computer Science) Two persons elected by Congregation MT 2024
Dr Kate Blackmon Saïd Business School (Vice Rosie Mortimer) MT 2023
Student VP

Sabbatical Officer

one student member representative selected by the sabbatical officers of the Oxford University Student Union from among their own number MT 2023
Anthony Sibthorp External Co-opted (the subcommittee may co-opt up to two additional members, who may be external) MT 2023
[vacancy] External  
Secretary: Planning and Council Secretariat (Ms Sarah Gardner)


 Officers in attendance:

  • Junior Proctor 

Each meeting will commence at 10.00 a.m


Week Date of BESC meeting
Michaelmas Term 2022  
Week 1 13 October 2022
Week 5 10 November 2022
Week 9 8 December 2022
Hilary Term 2023  
Week 1 19 January 2023
Week 5 16 February 2023
Week 9 16 March 2023
Trinity Term 2023  
Week 1 27 April 2023
Week 5 25 May 2023
Week 9 22 June 2023


For advice about the deadlines for papers, please speak to the Secretary, Ms Sarah Gardner.


For the regulations of the Buildings and Estates Subcommittee please click here:



Contact us

Planning and Council Secretariat

Sarah Gardner

+44 01865 (2)70021